Association of Steel Distributors announces new president, executive committee

ASDDecember 2013 - The Association of Steel Distributors (ASD) recently announced that Brian D. Robbins (pictured), CEO of MidWest Materials, Inc. in Perry, Ohio, has been elected as 2014 president by the association. Robbins will provide strategic direction for the association and is committed to taking on the ASD leadership role. He has been an active member of the ASD Board of Directors since 2004. ASD members include service centers, distributors, steel mills, transportation companies and service related companies who are all viable partners to the steel distribution marketplace. 

The 2014 ASD Board of Directors and Executive Committee will officially assume their roles following the March 20, 2014 ASD Annual Convention at the Waldorf Astoria, Orlando, Fla.

“I am honored to be chosen to lead an organization with such a rich history as the ASD. My family has been associated with the steel industry for more than 60 years, and it is humbling to follow in the footsteps of my grandfather, Joseph Koppelman, founder of MidWest Materials, who was one of the earliest members of the ASD and served as its president 45 years ago,” Robbins said. “I look forward to continuing the great work of our past presidents and to an active year of growth, communication, and furthering friendships.”

Robbins will succeed 2012-2013 President Lisa Goldenberg of the Delaware Steel Company of Pennsylvania. 

“Brian Robbins fully appreciates the balance between a traditional family values approach, and an innovative, modern method of thinking,” Goldenberg said. “Brian’s commitment to service and his strategic approach that has served MidWest Materials so well will be tremendously beneficial to the ASD.”

Joining Robbins on the Executive Committee will be:

  • Tim Loeffel, vice president at Loeffel Steel Products, Barrington, Ill., will serve as the executive vice president.
  • Andrew Gross, president at Alliance Steel, LLC., Bedford Park, Ill., will serve as vice president.
  • Mike Sawyer, vice president at Universal Metals, LLC., Toledo, Ohio, will serve as treasurer.

Returning Board of Directors members are as follows:

Mike Barnett, Grand Steel Products, Wixom, Mich.
Mike Bush, Esmark Steel Group, Chicago Heights, Ill.
Greg Gross, Northshore Metals, Deerfield, Ill.
Tom McDonald, Coil Slitting Intl., Wierton, W.V.
John Pidgeon, Steel Traders, Ft Lauderdale, Fla.
William Vitucci, Vitco Steel Supply Corporation, Posen, Ill.
Gary Ziebell, Zeeco Metals, Inc., Bridgeview, Ill.

The next ASD regional meeting is Jan. 23 at the MGM Grand in Detroit, Mich. Mike Feezey, president of Huntington National Bank will be the guest speaker.


Current Issue


August 2014

Metals invests in Scouting
The Boy Scouts of America attracts dedicated fundraisers from the metals sphere.





White Papers

More White Papers >

Modern Metals on Twitter



twitter facebook linkedin rss